Lifeboat News #71


Lifeboat News

This issue published on 06/01/08. Copyright 2008 Lifeboat Foundation. All Rights Reserved.

Time for a Bigger Machine

We are working to raise $2,500 to pay for high speed web hosting for a year. Jaan Tallin, cofounder of Skype, has gotten us started with a $300 donation. Our page for donations is
Having fast pages is important to attracting people and we have had a few slowdowns recently and even a few blog database errors when our machine became overloaded. Due to increasing public awareness, we also have a need to be able to handle large spikes in traffic. We already have higher traffic than the Foresight Nanotech Institute, The Singularity Institute for Artificial Intelligence, the National Space Society, the Mprize, the World Transhumanist Association, and many other organizations.
While waiting to implement a faster machine, we have been busy behind the scenes, activating and developing a cache for both our blog and regular web pages. (This means that whatever machine we are using can now handle A LOT more traffic!) We have also activated our own nameserver to provide redundancy.
We even updated all our non blog pages to "almost standards" mode from "quirks" mode. Our blog pages were already in "almost standards" mode. What this means is that we can take advantage of features in Internet Explorer that became available in version 6.0 to make Internet Explorer more compatible with other browsers. This improves the efficiency of caching as it reduces the need to cache different pages for Internet Explorer than other browsers. Our site has A LOT of pages so this was non trivial.
For you HTML experts out there, the reason we didn't choose to use "standards" mode is that there are more differences between browsers in that mode than in "almost standards" mode and there are no special features that we need that are only available in "standards mode".


Thanks to input from Daniel Berleant, our AIShield program at has been significantly upgraded.

James Blodgett Talks

James Blodgett will be distributing Lifeboat Foundation brochures at his poster presentation at the Second World Congress on Risk in Guadalajara, Mexico June 8-11, described at, and his talk at the American Mensa Annual Gathering in Denver, Colorado, July 2-6, described at
You can learn about James Blodgett at

2008 Space Elevator Conference

Learn about the 2008 Space Elevator Conference at This conference will be held in Redmond, Washington at the Microsoft Conference Center on July 18-20, 2008. It is sponsored by Microsoft and will feature topical discussions in all of the Four Pillars of Space Elevator Development: Science/Technical, Political/Social, Legal, and Economic.

WorldFuture 2008

Believe it or not, we have expanded our planned presence at the "WorldFuture 2008: Seeing the Future Through New Eyes" conference.
Our updated lineup includes: Lawrence A. Baines, Raj Bawa, Craig Bettles, Peter C. Bishop, Dennis M. Bushnell, Josh Calder, Arthur L. Caplan, José Luis Cordeiro, William J. Cosgrove, William Crossman, Irene J. Dabrowski, Yasmin Dada-Jones, Devin Fidler, Medard Gabel, Ashok K. Gangadean, Jay Gary, Jerry Glenn, Ted Gordon, Terry Grim, Linda Groff, William E. Halal, Don Heathfield, Jay Herson, Michael Jackson, Carl Jensen III, Shun-jie Ji, Tom Lombardo, Gary Marx, Jim Mathews, Kenneth L. Nichols, Amy Oberg, Jonathan Peck, John L. Petersen, Carrie Rathsack, Sheila R. Ronis, Karlin Sloan, Rick Smyre, Stephen F. Steele, Mike Treder, Thomas F. Valone, Verne Wheelwright, James Wright, Mariann Zanardo, and Michael Zey who will be speaking at WorldFuture 2008: Seeing the Future Through New Eyes at the Hilton Washington, Washington, D.C., from July 26 to July 28, 2008.
Learn more at

Donor Information

Our donor list format has been improved. You can now see who donated in 2004 at, view a list of our Executive Class members at, learn about our $10,000-$100,000 donors at, or look up donors whose last name begins with a "W" at

Growing Membership

Blackjack! Thanks to George Garrett, we now have 21 Economy Class members.
Here are some of the recent donations/pledges we have received since the last newsletter:
Jaan Tallinn: $300, Tyrone Steels II: $264, Humberto Castaneda: $200, Sergio M.L. Tarrero: $170, Mike Brogley: $100, Michael Anissimov: $85, Eric Bauswell: $85, Michael Dickey: $85, Chris Haley: $85, Donald Maclean: $85, Jason Gaverick Matheny: $85, Philippe Van Nedervelde: $85, Kenneth P. Weiss: $85, C M Anderson: $25, Vincent A. Cate: $25, Adam Dobrin: $25, Rick Hubbard: $25, Peter Murray: $25, Matthew L. McGuirl: $25, Robert Hunt Robinson: $25, James William Taylor: $25, Mark A. Walker: $25, Maggie Whitton: $25, Anonymous: $20, Alexander Braitberg: $10, Stephen Fleming: $10, Joshua Fox: $10, Christopher Dilkus: $10, Sylvia Engdahl: $10, George Garrett: $10, Joseph P. Jackson III: $10, Sheridan Layman: $10, Marcel Lossi: $10, Glenn A. Miller: $10, Sarah Jane Pell: $10, John N. Philipps (Jack): $10, Kaj Sotala: $10, and Thoughtware.TV: $5.
Our Join Us page at now allows you to pay for your membership anywhere from monthly to every ten years.