Lifeboat News #126


Lifeboat News

This issue published on 01/01/13. Copyright 2013 Lifeboat Foundation. All Rights Reserved.


We are close to publishing our first book. You can read updates about it at
The latest draft is available at
Our latest cover is at Things are really heating up on the cover front so we also have two covers by Nebula Award winning Catherine Asaro at and And we have nine covers by our Jason Batt at


Read "Design in Nature: How the Constructal Law Governs Evolution in Biology, Physics, Technology, and Social Organization" by our Adrian Bejan at Read "Intergrationalism: Essays Exploiting Spiritual Disincentives" by our James Felton Keith at Read "Singularity Rising: Surviving and Thriving in a Smarter, Richer, and More Dangerous World" by our James D. Miller at Read "Nexus" by our Ramez Naam at


Read "Cyber Deterrence and its Challenges" at Read "Space debris, a threat to modern society" at


Watch "Adrian Bejan at TEDxMidAtlantic 2012: Be Fearless" at

WorldFuture 2013

WorldFuture 2013 will be held July 19-21, 2013 at the Hilton Chicago Hotel, Chicago, Illinois, USA. Our Daniel Berleant, Peter C. Bishop, Shelly Brenckman, Maree Conway, Brenda Cooper, José Luis Cordeiro, Cindy Frewen, Jay Gary, Scott Gibbs, James Giordano, Ben Goertzel, Glen Hiemstra, John Jackson, Bud Levin, Gary Marx, Ramez Naam, Richard M. Pfohl, Karen Sands, Heather Schlegel, John Smart, Rick Smyre, Nick Spiller, Stephen Thaler, and Greg Van Alstyne will be speaking.
Learn more at

InfoPreserver Program

Our InfoPreserver program has now been upgraded to a "Current Program" thanks to efforts by our Frank D. Smith. Learn more at Frank is also the artist who did our latest book cover which is linked to at

Our Future in Space Video

Support "Our Future in Space — A National Space Society Video" at

Facebook Contest

Joyce Bettencourt has won an autographed DVD of Orphans of Apollo due to her Facebook post at
Anyone who posts in our Facebook group at by February 28, 2013 will be entered into a contest to win a signed copy of the new — just out — "Darkship Renegades", sequel to the Prometheus Award winning "Darkship Thieves".
The following people have already entered this contest: Gerard Bain, Paul Battista, Larry Bender, Mitchell Boden, Alex Michael Bonnici, Phil Bowermaster, Mark Carney, Nikola Danaylov, Adam Falcon, Tristan Hambling, James Felton Keith, Tom Kerwick, Josef Koch, Szabolcs Kósa, Wes Kretzschmar, Stephen Lang, Ron Langdon, Jeremy Lichtman, Christopher MacArthur, Gary Steven Mezo, Thomas Munyon, Moana Nalu, David Oker, Lawrence A. Oshanek, Bakari A. Pace, Edward Pandemonium, Ira Pastor, Boris Petrovic, Peter Rothman, Byron Craig Russell, Lorenzaccio SG, Kim Solez, Marxist Stalinist, Khannea Suntzu, and Jason Xu.
Learn about "Darkship Renegades" at

Lifeboat to the Stars: Looking for Nominations

The Lifeboat Foundation will present the "Lifeboat to the Stars" award along with $1,000 to the winner at the 2013 Campbell Conference where the topic of the conference will be interstellar travel.
The conference will be held June 13-16, 2013. It will take place at the Oread Hotel in Lawrence, Kansas, as the midway point between the Science Fiction Writing Workshops and the Intensive English Institute on the Teaching of Science Fiction. The Award dinner is held on the opening Friday of the Conference and features the John W. Campbell Memorial Award for the best science fiction novel of the year and the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for the best short science fiction of the year.
Send nominations for the award to Robert Sawyer at [email protected]
Learn more at


Interesting blog posts include:
"The Overview Effect and the Psychology of Cosmic Awe" by Odd Edges at
"AIAA Rocky Mountain — Sentinel Program" by Benjamin T. Solomon at

Growing Membership

Recent donations/pledges we have received since our last newsletter:
Willard H. Wells: $300, Michael Dickey: $85, Sergio M.L. Tarrero: $85, Philippe Van Nedervelde: $85, Kenneth P. Weiss: $85, Tihamer 'Tee' Toth-Fejel: $50, Anonymous: $35, Tom Driscoll: $30, Richard Kane: $30, J. Broadbent: $25, Matthew L. McGuirl: $25, James Bracken: $10, Rebecca R. Cooper: $10, Thomas Dolphin: $10, Charles Hawk: $10, Alexander Macrae: $10, Aaron Mayzes: $10, Philip Morehead: $10, Roland Schiefer: $10, Benjamin T. Solomon: $10, and Ryan Witt: $10.
Our Join Us page at now allows you to pay for your membership anywhere from monthly to every ten years.