Lifeboat News #160


Lifeboat News

This issue published on 11/01/15. Copyright 2015 Lifeboat Foundation. All Rights Reserved.

Bill Gates

The Lifeboat Foundation Guardian Award is annually bestowed upon a respected scientist or public figure who has warned of a future fraught with dangers and encouraged measures to prevent them.
The 2015 Lifeboat Foundation Guardian Award has been given to Bill Gates in recognition of his fight against infectious diseases, his warnings about artificial intelligence, and his funding of improvements in education since a smarter civilization is one that is more likely to survive and flourish.
Infectious Diseases
Bill Gates has donated billions of dollars to help fight malaria, pneumonia, diarrheal diseases, and an array of parasitic infections. This includes working on the development of vaccines to prevent infectious diseases including HIV, polio, and malaria. He also recently committed $50 million dollars to contain the Ebola outbreak. Bill has repeatedly announced his goal to completely eliminate malaria. Learn more at
He also launched a network of sites across Sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia known as the Child Health and Mortality Prevention Surveillance Network, or CHAMPS which will track the ebb and flow of disease, making sure that vaccines and aid can be delivered where they're most needed. This network is planned to expand over time.
Artificial Intelligence
"I am in the camp that is concerned about super intelligence," Bill wrote. "First the machines will do a lot of jobs for us and not be super intelligent. That should be positive if we manage it well. A few decades after that though the intelligence is strong enough to be a concern. I agree with Elon Musk and some others on this and don't understand why some people are not concerned."
The Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation is committed to ensuring that all students in the United States have the opportunity to receive a high-quality education. They have two programs that work in concert toward this goal. Their College-Ready Education program aims to ensure that all students graduate from high school prepared to succeed in college, and their Postsecondary Success program aims to dramatically increase the number of young people who obtain a postsecondary degree or certificate with labor-market value. Areas of intersection include practical approaches and policy strategies to better align K-12 standards with expectations in college-level courses.
Learn more at


Learn about "Architecture for building a people-first Digital Earth" at


Read "The Telomerase Revolution: The Enzyme That Holds the Key to Human Aging...and Will Soon Lead to Longer, Healthier Lives" at


Recent interesting blog posts include:
"Can Governments Ban Bitcoin?" by Philip Raymond at
"The First International Beauty Contest Judged By Robots" by Zoltan Istvan at
"Lunar Leap: Europe Is Reaching for a Moon Base by the 2030s" by Odette Gregory at
"Printable Organs Are Closer Than Ever Thanks to Three Bioprinting Breakthroughs" by Klaus Baldauf at
"Register Christmas Lecture — Anders Sandberg on Transhumanism" by Amnon H. Eden at
"Researchers Develop Stretchy Material for Wearable Tech" by Dan Kummer at
"Researchers Say Retrieving Information From a Black Hole Might Be Possible" by Sean Brazell at
"VetiGel: The Band-Aid of the future" by Shallesh Prasad at

Growing Membership

Recent donations/pledges we have received since our last newsletter:
Donald Maclean: $500, Wilfrid Nixon: $150, Stormy L. Brinson: $120, Brenda Cooper: $120, Robert Enderle: $100, Paul Epping: $100, Tihamer 'Tee' Toth-Fejel: $100, Eric B. Baum: $85, Michael Dickey: $85, Sergio M.L. Tarrero: $85, Philippe Van Nedervelde: $85, Kenneth P. Weiss: $85, Sam Gutterman: $50, G. Christom Larsin: $50, Hunter Williams: $40, Caroline Nguyen: $35, Anonymous: $25, Venita Davis: $25, Matthew L. McGuirl: $25, Brent L. Reitze: $25, Donna M. Simmons: $25, Nicholas Sansbury Smith: $25, Frank W. Sudia: $25, Allen G. Taylor: $25, Mohan K. Tikku: $25, Stephen Thaler: $20, Rebecca R. Cooper: $10, Alexander Macrae: $10, Aaron Mayzes: $10, Philip Morehead: $10, Roland Schiefer: $10, Peter Smafield: $10, Joel D. Ticknor: $10, Kelley White-Ricks: $10, Best Flight Delay Compensation: $5, PromoCardWatch: $5, and Knife Fellas: $1.
Our Join Us page at now allows you to pay for your membership anywhere from monthly to every ten years.