Advisory Board

Professor Eric S. Maskin, Nobel Laureate

Eric S. Maskin, Ph.D., FAAAS, Nobel Laureate is Albert O. Hirschman Professor of Social Science, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton and is 2007 Nobel Laureate in Economics. Listen to his interview by Adam Smith, Editor-in-Chief of immediately following the announcement of his award.
His work in economic theory has had a deep influence on many areas of economics, political science, and law. His current focus is work on mechanism design, repeated games, income inequality, and the theory of voting.
Eric edited Recent Developments in Game Theory (International Library of Critical Writings in Economics), and coedited Planning, Shortage, and Transformation: Essays in Honor of János Kornai and Economic Analysis of Markets and Games: Essays in Honor of Frank Hahn. He authored Recent Theoretical Work on the Soft Budget Constraint, and coauthored On the Fundamental Theorems of General Equilibrium, Auction Theory with Private Values, The Efficient Market Hypothesis and Insider Trading on the Stock Market, and Repeated Games with Long-Run and Short-Run Players. Read the full list of his publications!
He is editor of Economics Letters, associate editor, Social Choice and Welfare, associate editor, Games and Economic Behavior, associate editor, Review of Economic Design, associate editor, QR Journal of Theoretical Economics, editorial advisor, Journal of Developing Areas, associate editor, International Journal of Game Theory, advisory editor, Division of Labor and Transaction Costs, and advisory editor, Economics.
Eric earned his B.A. in Mathematics from Harvard University in 1972, his M.A. in Applied Mathematics from Harvard University in 1974, and his Ph.D. in Applied Mathematics from Harvard University in 1976. He received an honorary M.A. from Cambridge University in 1977. He was elected Fellow of the Econometric Society in 1981, Fellow of American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1994, and Fellow of the European Economic Association in 2004.
Read The Prize in Economic Sciences 2007.