Lifeboat News #141


Lifeboat News

This issue published on 04/01/14. Copyright 2014 Lifeboat Foundation. All Rights Reserved.

WorldFuture 2014

WorldFuture 2014 will be held July 11-13, 2014 at the Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek, Orlando, Florida, USA.
Our Guillermina Baena, Lawrence Baines, Rob Bencini, Peter Bishop, Brenda Cooper, José Cordeiro, Jason Dunn, Cindy Frewen, Jay Gary, Lesley Gist, Jerome Glenn, Fabienne Goux-Baudiment, Linda Groff, Bill Halal, Trevor Haldenby, Derek Boyd Hankerson, Glen Hiemstra, Elina Hiltunen, Andy Hines, Barbara Marx Hubbard, Zoltan Istvan, Zhouying Jin, Steven M. Johnson, Ted Kahn, James H. Lee, Tom Lombardo, Tim Mack, Gary Marx, Kate McCallum, Alex McManus, Ramez Naam, Claire Nelson, Bj Price, Kevin Russell, Laura Schlehuber, John Schmidt, Gray Scott, Rupam Shrivastava, John M. Smart, Rick Smyre, Kiko Suarez, Jason Swanson, Patrick Tucker, Alexandra Whittington, Lindsea Wilbur, and Michael Zey will be speaking.
If you register by April 30 you can save $150.
You can learn more at

Book Updates

KurzweilAI is featuring our book "The Human Race to the Future: What Could Happen — and What to Do" at
Read the review by Harry J. Bentham at


Recent interesting blog posts include:
"Could Mind-reading Technology Become Harmful?" by Harry J. Bentham at
"Facebook and the Future of Global Governance" by Emanuel Yi Pastreich at
"Ground Zero of Interstellar Propulsion" by Benjamin T. Solomon at
"Nanoelectronic circuits that operate more than 10,000 times faster than current microprocessors" by Seb at
"Seven A.I. Movies That Are Better Than Transcendence" by Seb at
"The White Swan's Beyond Eureka and Sputnik Moments! [Treatise Excerpt]" by Andres Agostini at

Growing Membership

Recent donations/pledges we have received since our last newsletter:
Peter Harrigan: $120 (0.2712 bitcoins), Maciamo Hay: $120, Michael Dickey: $85, Sergio M.L. Tarrero: $85, Philippe Van Nedervelde: $85, Kenneth P. Weiss: $85, J. Broadbent: $25, Matthew L. McGuirl: $25, Julia Scherer: $25 (0.05468 bitcoins), Anonymous: $10, Rebecca R. Cooper: $10, Thomas Dolphin: $10, Alexander Macrae: $10, Aaron Mayzes: $10, Philip Morehead: $10, Roland Schiefer: $10, ApplianceSmart: $5, and Craig Atkinson Law: $1.
Our Join Us page at now allows you to pay for your membership anywhere from monthly to every ten years.