Lifeboat News #122


Lifeboat News

This issue published on 09/01/12. Copyright 2012 Lifeboat Foundation. All Rights Reserved.

Advisory Board

2002 Nobel Laureate in Economics Daniel Kahneman joins our Policy Board. Read his latest book, “Thinking, Fast and Slow” at
Read his bio at Watch his Nobel Prize Lecture at

Global Catastrophic Risk Institute

Learn about the Global Catastrophic Risk Institute (GCRI) at
This startup think tank leads research, education, and professional networking on global catastrophic risk. GCRI aims to identify and assess the most effective ways of reducing the risk of global catastrophe, as well as the issues raised by global catastrophic risk.

Open Science Summit 2012

Learn about the Open Science Summit 2012 at

TOHL: Elevating Infrastructure

Learn about TOHL: Elevating Infrastructure at

World Record in Electric-Mileage Efficiency

Learn about The eCC, a fully-electric “Green” vehicle, licensed and street-legal, that will set the world record in electric-mileage efficiency at

Facebook Contest Update

Our Facebook contest is going well. Post at least once in our Facebook group by September 30, 2012 and you will be entered in a contest whose winner will have the honor of Josef P. Holbert creating an original acrylic on canvas, 24” x 18” on the subject of the winner’s choice.
Learn about Josef at
People who have entered this contest so far include Doug Bard, Paul Battista, Alex Michael Bonnici, Geoff Brennan, Michelle Cadieux, Nikola Danaylov, Cuentin Caballero De La Granja, Eamon Everall, Adam Falcon, Sean Emery Flatt, Dariusz Gentek, Sirius Hallenberg, Lola Heavey, Alex Hoekstra, Cameron Keys, Josef Koch, Wes Kretzschmar, Stephen Lang, Jeremy Lichtman, Mike Lorrey, Christopher MacArthur, Roberto Manzocco, Mikeythaniel McGillicuddy, Diana Jean Muir, Thomas Munyon, Moana Nalu, Martin O’Dea, Lawrence A. Oshanek, Edward Pandemonium, George Perry, Sandy Ravage, Esther Rudolph, Kim Solez, Khannea Suntzu, Reno J. Tibke, Tereza Ullinovich, Daniel Perez Vidal, Natasha Vita-More, and Marcia Wiegand.


Reno J. Tibke joins our blog team with the post “The Recurring Parable of the AWOL Android” at
Other interesting blog posts include:
“International Nuclear Services Putting Business Before Safety” by Tom Kerwick at
“The Invisible Second Coming” by Gary Michael Church at
“Questioning the Foundations of Physics to Achieve Interstellar Travel: Part 3” by Benjamin T. Solomon at

Growing Membership

Recent donations/pledges we have received since our last newsletter:
Oracle: $300, Anonymous: $150, John Lee: $100, Michael Dickey: $85, Sergio M.L. Tarrero: $85, Philippe Van Nedervelde: $85, Kenneth P. Weiss: $85, Maximus V. Peto: $50, J. Broadbent: $25, Rick Hubbard: $25, Matthew L. McGuirl: $25, James Bracken: $10, Rebecca R. Cooper: $10, Irene J. Dabrowski: $10, Thomas Dolphin: $10, Charles Hawk: $10, Alexander Macrae: $10, Aaron Mayzes: $10, Philip Morehead: $10, Roland Schiefer: $10, Benjamin T. Solomon: $10, and Ryan Witt: $10.
Our Join Us page at now allows you to pay for your membership anywhere from monthly to every ten years.