Lifeboat News #119


Lifeboat News

This issue published on 06/01/12. Copyright 2012 Lifeboat Foundation. All Rights Reserved.

Summer Growth

Our Summer Growth page at now includes the following news:
1) We provided financial and media support for Rationalizing Our Approach To Safety In Space, a project being done by our Rand Simberg.
2) We are now supporting The Fifth Conference on Artificial General Intelligence, AGI-12 @ Oxford, which will be held December 8-11, 2012. This will include the AGI-Impacts conference which will be held on the afternoon of the last two days of the conference. Appropriately for this Alan Turing centenary year, this is the first AGI conference to be held in the UK. Our Itamar Arel, Stuart Armstrong, Joscha Bach, Sarah Bull, Cristiano Castelfranchi, Antonio Chella, Stan Franklin, Rod Furlan, Deon Garrett, Ben Goertzel, J. Storrs Hall, Marcus Hutter, Matthew O. Iklé, Randal Koene, Kai-Uwe Kühnberger, Christian Lebiere, Moshe Looks, Vincent C. Müller, David Orban, Stephen Reed, Anders Sandberg, Jürgen Schmidhuber, Kristinn R. Thórisson, Julian Togelius, and Mario Verdicchio will be participating.
3) Our David Brin's new novel Existence now mentions our many programs.
4) Jeff Bone/Topsight Fund and Donald Maclean will triple all donations to our Summer Growth Fund made between June 30 and July 4.


Lawrence Baines joins our blog team with the post "A Future of Fewer Words" at
Farooq Khan joins our blog team with the post "Médecins Sans Frontières Scientific Day 2012" at
Emanuel Yi Pastreich joins our blog team with the post "The Crisis in Education in Korea and the World" at
Brandon Seifert joins our blog team with the post "The Importance of NASA" at
Other interesting blog posts include
"Response to the Global Futures 2045 Video" by Keith Curtis at
"Spiralling Debt & The Road to Breaking Point" by Tom Kerwick at


Our Facebook group now has over 1,400 members. Join our discussions at

Growing Membership

Recent donations/pledges we have received since our last newsletter:
Michael Dickey: $85, Sergio M.L. Tarrero: $85, Philippe Van Nedervelde: $85, Kenneth P. Weiss: $85, Brandon E. Larson: $50, Rick Hubbard: $25, Matthew L. McGuirl: $25, Anonymous: $10, James Bracken: $10, Rebecca R. Cooper: $10, Thomas Dolphin: $10, George Garrett: $10, Charles Hawk: $10, Tom Kerwick: $10, Alexander Macrae: $10, Aaron Mayzes: $10, Glenn A. Miller: $10, Philip Morehead: $10, Roland Schiefer: $10, Benjamin T. Solomon: $10, and Ryan Witt: $10.
Our Join Us page at now allows you to pay for your membership anywhere from monthly to every ten years.