Lifeboat News #116


Lifeboat News

This issue published on 03/01/12. Copyright 2012 Lifeboat Foundation. All Rights Reserved.

Humanity+ @ Melbourne Conference

Our Aubrey de Grey and Natasha Vita-More will be speaking at the Humanity+ @ Melbourne conference being held on May 5-6, 2012. This conference is being organized by our Adam A. Ford.
Learn more at

Removing Orbital Debris With Lasers

Read "Removing Orbital Debris with Lasers" which was coauthored by our Claude Phipps at

Abundance: the Future is Better Than You Think

Read "Abundance: The Future Is Better Than You Think", coauthored by our Steven Kotler at


Watch robot quadrotors perform the James Bond theme at

Logo Input

If you would like to comment on possible Lifeboat Foundation logo designs, write to [email protected] with the subject "Lifeboat Foundation Logo".


Some interesting blog posts include:
"Beyond the outer limits: colonizing the cosmos" by Daniel Berleant at
"Establishing an Off-Earth Back-up of the Biosphere" by John Hunt at
"The Neutron Star Paradox: Immunity to Micro Black Hole Capture" by Tom Kerwick at

Growing Board

Billy Cohn, who developed and implanted the world's first artificial heart with no pulse, joins our Biotech/Medical Board. Billy has over 50 US patents for medical devices which help surgeons operate on a beating heart, a task thought to be impossible for many years. His Cohn Cardiac Stabilizer was licensed by Genzyme Surgical and has been used in over 200,000 off-pump coronary artery bypasses.
Read his bio at
David Ferrucci, Principal Investigator of IBM's DeepQA ("Watson") Project, joins our Information Sciences Board. Watson defeated the best human Jeopardy! champions in a 3 day contest. Watch "Building Watson — A Brief Overview of the DeepQA Project" at
Read Dave's bio at


Our Facebook group now has over 1,100 members. Join our discussions at

Growing Membership

Recent donations/pledges we have received since our last newsletter:
Donald Maclean: $3,000, Michael Dickey: $85, Sergio M.L. Tarrero: $85, Philippe Van Nedervelde: $85, Kenneth P. Weiss: $85, Brandon E. Larson: $50, Tom Driscoll: $30, Rick Hubbard: $25, Matthew L. McGuirl: $25, Anonymous: $10, James Bracken: $10, Rebecca R. Cooper: $10, Thomas Dolphin: $10, George Garrett: $10, Charles Hawk: $10, Tom Kerwick: $10, Alexander Macrae: $10, Aaron Mayzes: $10, Glenn A. Miller: $10, Philip Morehead: $10, Roland Schiefer: $10, Benjamin T. Solomon: $10, and Ryan Witt: $10.
Our Join Us page at now allows you to pay for your membership anywhere from monthly to every ten years.