Lifeboat News #111


Lifeboat News

This issue published on 10/01/11. Copyright 2011 Lifeboat Foundation. All Rights Reserved.

End of the Year Fundraiser

Our End of the Year Fundraiser has begun!
You can get donations made by October 31 •tripled• at


We would like your input on typography issues. If you would like to give your opinion on such issues write to [email protected] with the subject “Lifeboat Foundation typography”. Don’t know what typography is? Read


Yasemin B. won last month’s blog contest with the post “Space Junk! Environmental concerns!” at
She won a free autographed copy of “Turning Dust to Gold: Building a Future on the Moon and Mars” (thanks to our Haym Benaroya) and an autographed DVD of “Orphans of Apollo” (thanks to our Michael Potter).
This month, anyone who posts to our blog in the space category will be eligible to win an autographed copy of “Missions to the Moon” (thanks to our Rod Pyle) and an autographed copy of “Darkship Thieves” which won the Prometheus Award (thanks to our Sarah A. Hoyt).
To get authorization to post to our official blog, write to [email protected] with the subject “Lifeboat Foundation blog”.
You can learn about “Missions to the Moon” at and you can learn about “Darkship Thieves” at
So far, the following people have entered this drawing:
Gary Michael Church with the post “Water and Bombs” at
Steve Nerlich with the post “Astronomers Win 2011 Nobel Prize in Physics” at
Walter Putnam with the post “Space Renaissance: Dawn of a New Age of Civilization” at
Amalie Sinclair with the post “ISDHuB — Supporting for 100 years” at


Daniel H. Wilson, author of The New York Times best selling science fiction book Robopocalypse, joined our Futurists Board. Steven Spielberg will be directing the film version of this novel, scheduled for a release date of July 4, 2013. (Note that Dreamworks bought the film rights to the book a year and a half •before• the book was published.)
You can learn about this book at

Growing Membership

Recent donations/pledges we have received since the last newsletter:
Anonymous: $130, Brenda Cooper: $120, John J. Grencer: $120, Paula J. Wilson: $120, Sergio M.L. Tarrero: $85, Philippe Van Nedervelde: $85, Kenneth P. Weiss: $85, Brandon E. Larson: $50, Brian Shiro: $30, Michael Breazeale: $25, Rick Hubbard: $25, Matthew L. McGuirl: $25, Ronald Amos: $10, Don V. Black: $10, James Bracken: $10, Rebecca R. Cooper: $10, Thomas Dolphin: $10, George Garrett: $10, Charles Hawk: $10, Alexander Macrae: $10, Aaron Mayzes: $10, Glenn A. Miller: $10, Philip Morehead: $10, Phil Nadeau: $10, Frank D. Smith: $10, Benjamin T. Solomon: $10, Keith Godici: $5, Gissell Gonzalez: $5, Tatiana Gonzalez: $5, John Gutierrez: $5, Paulette Kallas: $5, and Carlos Ingram: Private amount.
Our Join Us page at now allows you to pay for your membership anywhere from monthly to every ten years.