Lifeboat News #107


Lifeboat News

This issue published on 06/01/11. Copyright 2011 Lifeboat Foundation. All Rights Reserved.

Generous Offer

Our Jeff Bone has made a generous offer: he will triple all donations to our Summer Growth Fund made from June 27 to June 30. (So if you donate $10, he will add $20, giving a total donation of $30.)
Learn about Oracle's donation and more at

Bitcoin Donations

We now accept Bitcoin donations. Learn more about Bitcoins at

InfoPreserver Wiki

We have now launched a wiki for our InfoPreserver program at It already contains information uploaded by our members in 24 categories ranging from Chemistry to Physics to Water Purification. We invite you to edit it!

DARPA/NASA Initiative

We have completed the report made at the joint request of DARPA and NASA. You can read a copy of this report at

David Gerrold

David Gerrold joins our Futurists Board. David wrote the script for The Trouble With Tribbles and is the author of over 50 books, several hundred articles and columns, and over a dozen television episodes.
Learn more at

Lifeboat Store

Thanks to Lifeboat Foundation member Frank D. Smith, the Lifeboat Foundation store now offers a Got Civilization? bumper sticker at and a Got Civilization? bumper sticker with a neon logo at
Frank D. Smith thanks our David Brin for inspiring him to create our Got Civilization? items by discussing the importance of citizen resiliency with him.

Twitter Feeds for Space Geeks

Read "20 Incredible Twitter Feeds for Space Geeks" at

Growing Membership

Recent donations/pledges we have received since the last newsletter:
Benjamin R. Hoffman: $1,000, Donald Maclean: $1,000, Fannie Mae: $745, Alan R. Light: $300, Oracle: $300, Stanley Pecavar: $300, Michael Dickey: $85, Sergio M.L. Tarrero: $85, Philippe Van Nedervelde: $85, Kenneth P. Weiss: $85, Anonymous: $50, Pablo Elenter: $50, Jeff Bone: $48.20, Glenn A. Miller: $35, Michael Breazeale: $25, Rick Hubbard: $25, Matthew L. McGuirl: $25, Ronald Amos: $10, Lale Basarir: $10, James Bracken: $10, Rebecca R. Cooper: $10, Christopher Dilkus: $10, Thomas Dolphin: $10, George Garrett: $10, Charles Hawk: $10, Richard Kane: $10, Alexander Macrae: $10, Aaron Mayzes: $10, Philip Morehead: $10, Phil Nadeau: $10, John N. Philipps (Jack): $10, Frank D. Smith: $10, and Rhonda Stevenson: $10.
Our Join Us page at now allows you to pay for your membership anywhere from monthly to every ten years.